anxiety, General Parenting, Mental Health

Go With Your Gut

“Go with your gut.”

Both the best and worst parenting advice I have ever received. Do what you feel is right and ignore everyone else/the internet (especially the internet). Spot on.

But with anxiety, nothing feels right. Anxiety shouts louder than my gut, telling me I’m doing everything wrong, that I’m going to screw up my kids for life. I’ve read six different parenting books and about a million blog posts/articles and still nothing feels right.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m terrible at making decisions. I can’t trust my gut because my gut tells me that no matter what I choose I chose wrong. Whether I’m making a major life decision or deciding what to have for dinner, the panic sets in.

So I feel I’m pretty awful at parenting. Whenever Caide is “naughty”/a normal toddler I worry about what I did wrong that causes such behaviour, even though I *know* it’s normal for his age. Logic and reason don’t enter in to it.

So what do you do when your gut instinct is to tell yourself you don’t know what you’re doing?

Leave a comment